The search for happiness......

For problems with mental or emotional well being.
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

The search for happiness......

Postby everloney » Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:35 pm

Has anyone found it? if so what is it that makes you happy?

I have been up and down for all of my life. The last 5 years have been really tough, i did my PhD and now have moved to california for my job. I feel down and cry alot. I just want to be happy and i'm not sure how to go about fixing myself. I think i have been looking for a place or person to fix my unhappiness. I keep running to new places, but the problems just come with me, even over the ocean :). I think on some level i have been waiting for a boyfriend to make me happy. So every time i get into a relationship, there is alot riding on it and i may put pressure on the men (i don't think i do, but its prob sub-conscious). Then when it doesn't work out it all comes crashing down around me and i get depressed over it for months, then move on to the next, am happy for a week or two, until they leave and again the depression. People shouldn't be able i affect my moods this much. I think i need to make myself happy, but i don't know how. When i see my friends happy in relationships i get jeloius and i feel like a terrible person for feeling like this. I am also alittle over weight and worry thats why no1 wants me... I just think if i can make myself happy take this crasy pressure off myself i may one day find a good man but at this rate, its going to be a bad man who hurts me or no man. I feel like im wasting my life worrying over this stuff.... i don't want to anymore. What can i do? does anyone else feel like this?
everloney
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Re: The search for happiness......

Postby captainf » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:15 pm