Want to leave

For any worries about education in general.
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

Want to leave

Postby mickslogun » Tue May 24, 2005 7:05 pm

I'm in my second year of sixth form, but redoing the first year, so instead of leaving this year i have still another year to go. Last year i wanted to leave, and when i spoke to my parents about it they said i was stupid and didn't want to talk about such a ridiculous idea, and that i'd ruin my life if i did. So i decided to stick it out, and then a few months later i decided i just can't do it, and i went to them again and got the same reaction, so again decided to stick it out. But now. i'm feeling it again, and i don't want to stick it out anymore. i have no desire to be there, it's just making me depressed still being there,same thing every day.
Does anyone have any ideas of how to deal with parents in this situation?
mickslogun
One of the Crowd
One of the Crowd

Postby Moose » Tue May 24, 2005 7:15 pm

If you have 100% made up your mind, and you're sure you can't stick it out, then you need to have a back-up plan with which to go to your parents. There's no point in going saying "I want to leave" and when they say "What are you going to do then?" you saying "Dunno".

Have you got any ideas about what you might do? There are modern apprenticeship schemes that you might get more out of. Maybe you could look into that sort of thing.

But I would strongly recommend having something to go to them with, so you look like you have done your homework, so to speak, and so you don't look like you're just quitting with nothing to go to.
Moose
Taken Root
Taken Root

Postby mickslogun » Tue May 24, 2005 7:44 pm