Homesick

Go here if you need cheering up, or if you feel the urge to cheer someone else up!
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

Homesick

Postby sarahmienwok » Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:14 am

Hey all, Im new to this so hello there! Nice to meet you all!

I'm feeling down at the moment, in truth I have been for a few days. I'm living away from home, and I'm missing my friends and family a lot. I've made new friends here, and they're lovely, but I dont know them well enough yet, and we dont get to see each other till the weekend, and even then it's not every weekend.

I dont know if it's me missing home or whatever, but everything seems to be annoying me at the moment. I feel like everyone is out to get me, and it's getting me really down.

Sorry, I just needed to get it off my chest. Anyone have any tips on dealing with homesickness?

Thanks x
sarahmienwok
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Postby Liquidius » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:57 pm

Hello, and welcome to PP. :)

When I moved away to Uni I felt homesick for a while. The best way that I found to deal with it was to distract myself by doing different things, and getting to know people.

It sounds like you're already making an effort to do that, but why can you only see your friends at weekends? Maybe you could have a night in at your new place?
Liquidius
Permanent Fixture
Permanent Fixture

Postby sarahmienwok » Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:44 pm

We all live too far away from each other to see each other in the week. There are a lot of us and it's sometimes difficult not to feel left out of things that are going on. At home, I have a smaller group of friends, so that never happens. Although back home, that sort of thing wouldnt bother me. But now I'm in a completely different country, and dont speak a word of the language, so what seems like a silly thing really gets me down.