should i have kept her confidence

Got a problem with your workplace or one of your colleagues? Thrash it out here.
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

should i have kept her confidence

Postby miaow » Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:26 pm

I work in education and a 'student' is due to sit a very important exam in a couple of weeks (exam will take half a day at least and she will have to stand and be grilled about her research). Its a very important exam and her future career will depend on it.

I thought she had nerves the other week but then she burst into tears and told me she was pregnant by her boyf (serious relationship) and she didnt want to keep the baby. I comforted her and listened until she calmed down. She was due to meet her director of studies (who i work for - this is why i know her) and obv was in floods of tears so i went into the director and said she wasnt well etc and that id rearrange the meeting for them both.

He twigged something wasnt right (she is excellent student who is always in etc for her not to come to a meeting - ill or not - is uncharacteristic of her). I was torn between telling him the truth and keeping her confidence. After sleeping on it i told him - he agreed that her state of mind etc could mess up her final exam. I am trying to persuade her to tell him, without pressuring her, as a) he is v supportive and it would go no further (he is medical doctor himself) and b) as director he may be able to pull strings and get the exam postponed without her having to pay any fees etc.

He has said it needs to come from her, rather than him approach the subject and her realise i've told him, but i think end of next wk if she hasnt told him he is going to have a gentle word with her., as her final exam is week after.