Covering Letter - HELP!

Got a problem with your workplace or one of your colleagues? Thrash it out here.
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

Covering Letter - HELP!

Postby dipsydoodlenoodle » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:01 am

Well there is an internal job vacancy at work and I'd like to apply for it; we have to write a covering letter...What do I need to include on a covering letter? does anyone have examples?

My problems are I've never written one before; do I address it Sir/Madam when it's going to one of the girls? Do I make it formal, when they know who I am and what I've done for the last 3.5 years? I'm a bit confused; we have to hand it in next week as well eeek!
A hug is a great gift, one size fits all.
dipsydoodlenoodle
Long Term Lodger
Long Term Lodger

Re: Covering Letter - HELP!

Postby Skarlet » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:12 am

If you know who it is going to then use their name or find out the name - it looks better. Explain why you are applying for the job, how your skills match the job description. and also a little about yourself. At least that is what I have always done. Have a look at www.prospects.ac.uk they have a section on coverign letters, which you could use and modify as a template.
Skarlet
Permanent Fixture
Permanent Fixture

Postby dipsydoodlenoodle » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:31 am

I just don't want to make it too formal as it's an internal job...We are only a small company (40 people at most) so we all know everyone.
dipsydoodlenoodle
Long Term Lodger
Long Term Lodger

Postby Skarlet » Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:44 am

Well it doesn't have to be too formal, I would use the name as it looks less formal, good luck with it :D
Skarlet
Permanent Fixture
Permanent Fixture

Postby dipsydoodlenoodle » Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:29 pm

I'll probably post a draft on here for pulling apart :)
dipsydoodlenoodle
Long Term Lodger
Long Term Lodger