daughters wedding

For problems with your children, of any age...
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

daughters wedding

Postby karenmull » Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:49 pm

hi, i'm new to this and i am completely at my wits end. i am a divorcee with 4 grown children, all girls. i m very proud of them all and i love my 4 grandchildren to bits. each of my daughters has a child each. i have been with my partner for 11 years. my 2nd eldest is getting married in march. she has been engaged for 2 years . her and her fiance have saved and are paying for the wedding themselves. i and my partner are paying for the honeymoon and i have been consulted about my opinion at every step and everybody is getting excited about the wedding - the first of my children to get married. my children have had no relationship with their dad in 11 years. he was never there for them and my daughter and her sisters dont want him at the wedding. however while discussing the seating arrangements before christmas, my daughter announced that my partner wasnt sitting at the wedding table with the wedding party. i was very distressed about this and begged her to reconsider for my sake. i have been sick on and off for the last 2 years and have been hospitalised. my partner has been so good to me throughout and was the person who looked after my every need. my daughter says he's not family. when i asked would it make a difference if we were married ie he would be her stepfather, she said no it wouldnt. it has become a real sore point and i am miserable over the whole thing. i told my partner and he was equally upset as he had assumed that being my partner that he would be sitting at the wedding table and made the point that when my other daughters get married the situation will be the same and we will be forced to sit apart. my daughter asked my brother to walk her down the aisle which was understa